Skip to main content

North Kingstown School Department

Search
Office of Family Learning » Blessings in a Backpack

Blessings in a Backpack

The North Kingstown School Department participates in Blessings in a Backpack, a national program that provides food on the weekend for students who experience food insecurity at home.  Each week over 100 NKSD students are sent home with a bag containing two lunches, two snacks, and two breakfasts.  
 
Currently, Blessings in a Backpack operates in all North Kingstown elementary and middle schools.  At the District level, the program is managed by the staff of the Office of Family Learning.  Each individual school has a coordinator responsible for enrolling families and collecting monetary and food donations.  The program is 100% funded by donations.  A $100 donation will cover the cost for weekend food for one child for the entire school year.  
 
If your family would benefit from Blessings in a Backpack, please reach out to the Blessings contact at your child's school (listed below).  
 
If you would like to make a donation, please complete the donation form on the right and send it to the NKSD school of your choice or to the Office of Family Learning at 50 East Court, North Kingstown, RI 02852.  
 

NKSD Coordinator:

Cindy Bowe, cindy_bowe@nksd.net, 401-541-6373
 

Davisville Middle School:

BarbaraJean Mancini, barbarjean_mancini@nksd.net, 401-541-6300

 

Wickford Middle School:

Brian Lally, brian_lally@nksd.net, 401-541-6470


SMH Quidnessett Elementary School Rep.:

Amanda Sauro,  amanda_sauro@nksd.net,  401-541-6373


Fishing Cove Elementary School Reps.:

Karen Seitler,  karen_seitler@nksd.net,  401- 268-6580

Michele Corbin, michele_corbin@nksd.net


Forest Park Elementary School Rep.:

Brenda Glover,  brenda_glover@nksd.net,  401-541-6380


Davisville Academy School Reps.:

Lisa Ennis,  lisa_ennis@nksd.net,  401-541-6340

Stephanie Sullivan,  stephanie_sullivan@nksd.net,  401- 884-3893


Hamilton Elementary School Rep.:

Liz Branchaud, elizabeth_branchaud@nksd.net, 401-268-6520


Stony Lane Elementary School Rep.:

Nicole Hitchener, nicole_hitchener@nksd.net, 401-268-6540