Skip to main content

North Kingstown School Department

Search
Office of Family Learning » Blessings in a Backpack

Blessings in a Backpack

Blessings in a Backpack logoThe North Kingstown School Department participates in Blessings in a Backpack, a national program that provides food on the weekend for students who experience food insecurity at home.  Each week over 100 NKSD students are sent home with a bag containing two lunches, two snacks, and two breakfasts.  
 
Currently, Blessings in a Backpack operates in all North Kingstown School Department schools.  At the District level, the program is managed by the staff of the Office of Family Learning.  Each individual school has a coordinator responsible for enrolling families and collecting monetary and food donations.  The program is 100% funded by donations.  A $100 donation will cover the cost for weekend food for one child for the entire school year.  
 
If your family would benefit from Blessings in a Backpack, please reach out to the Blessings contact at your child's school (listed below).  
 
If you would like to make a donation, please complete the donation form on the right and send it to the NKSD school of your choice or to the Office of Family Learning at 50 East Court, North Kingstown, RI 02852.  
 

NKSD Coordinator:

Cindy Bowe, cindy_bowe@nksd.net, 401-541-6353
 

North Kingstown High School:
Matt Hughes & Christine Newton
matt_hughes@nksd.net, christine_newton@nksd.net, 401-268-6236

 

Davisville Middle School:

Cheryl Decotis Thomas & Emily Berenback
cheryl_d_thomas@nksd.net, emily_berenback@nksd.net, 401-541-6300

 

Wickford Middle School:

Lori Logidice, lori_logidice@nksd.net, 401-541-6473


SMH Quidnessett Elementary School Rep.:

Cindy Bowe, cindy_bowe@nksd.net, 401-541-6373


Fishing Cove Elementary School Reps.:

Michele Corbin, michele_corbin@nksd.net, 401-268-6580


Forest Park Elementary School Rep.:

Brenda Glover,  brenda_glover@nksd.net,  401-541-6380


Davisville Academy School Reps.:

Lisa Marenaro, lisa_marenaro@nksd.net, 401-541-6340


Hamilton Elementary School Rep.:

Liz Branchaud, elizabeth_branchaud@nksd.net, 401-268-6520


Stony Lane Elementary School Rep.:

Nicole Hitchener & Michele Lacroix
nicole_hitchener@nksd.net, michele_lacroix@nksd.net, 401-268-6541