Blessings in a Backpack

Banner

The North Kingstown School Department participates in Blessings in a Backpack, a national program that provides food on the weekend for students who experience food insecurity at home.  Each week over 200 NKSD students are sent home with a bag containing two lunches, two snacks, and two breakfasts.  

Currently, Blessings in a Backpack operates in all North Kingstown School Department schools.  At the District level, the program is managed by the staff of the Office of Family Learning.  Each individual school has a coordinator responsible for enrolling families and collecting monetary and food donations.  The program is 100% funded by donations.  A $150 donation will cover the cost for weekend food for one child for the entire school year.   

If your family would benefit from Blessings in a Backpack, please reach out to the Blessings contact at your child's school (listed below).  

 If you would like to make a donation, please complete the donation form on the right and send it to the NKSD school of your choice or to the Office of Family Learning at 50 East Court, North Kingstown, RI 02852.  

 

NKSD Coordinator:

Jen Kincaid, northkblessings@gmail.com, 401-580-5032

North Kingstown High School:
Matt Hughes
matt_hughes@nksd.net,401-268-6236

Davisville Middle School:

Emily Burton
emily_burton@nksd.net, 401-541-6322

Wickford Middle School:

Lori Logidice, lori_logidice@nksd.net, 401-268-6478

SMH Quidnessett Elementary School Rep.:

Tina Morris, tina_morris@nksd.net, 401-541-6373

Fishing Cove Elementary School Reps.:

Lisa Armstrong, lisa_armstrong@nksd.net, 401-268-6580

Forest Park Elementary School Rep.:

Brenda Glover,  brenda_glover@nksd.net,  401-541-6380

Davisville Academy School Reps.:

Fran Morrell, fran_morrell@nksd.net 401-541-6340

Hamilton Elementary School Rep.:

Britni Coccio, britni_coccio@nksd.net, 401-268-6520

Stony Lane Elementary School Rep.:

Nicole Hitchener & Michele Lacroix
nicole_hitchener@nksd.net, michele_lacroix@nksd.net, 401-268-6541