Blessings in a Backpack

Banner

The North Kingstown School Department participates in Blessings in a Backpack, a national program that provides food on the weekend for students who experience food insecurity at home.  Each week over 200 NKSD students are sent home with a bag containing two lunches, two snacks, and two breakfasts.  

COVID DISTRIBUTION UPDATE:

Due to current COVID restrictions, Blessings in a Backpack distribution will happen off-site, instead of through backpack mail at schools.  Families can pick-up their "backpacks" at one of two locations each week:  

  • Thursdays from 2:30-4:00 at 11 Merrill Lane (Kingstown Crossings)

Currently, Blessings in a Backpack operates in all North Kingstown School Department schools.  At the District level, the program is managed by the staff of the Office of Family Learning.  Each individual school has a coordinator responsible for enrolling families and collecting monetary and food donations.  The program is 100% funded by donations.  A $120 donation will cover the cost for weekend food for one child for the entire school year.   

If your family would benefit from Blessings in a Backpack, please reach out to the Blessings contact at your child's school (listed below).  

 If you would like to make a donation, please complete the donation form on the right and send it to the NKSD school of your choice or to the Office of Family Learning at 50 East Court, North Kingstown, RI 02852.  

 

NKSD Coordinator:

Cindy Bowe, cindy_bowe@nksd.net, 401-541-6353

North Kingstown High School:
Matt Hughes & Christine Newton
matt_hughes@nksd.net, christine_newton@nksd.net, 401-268-6236

Davisville Middle School:

Emily Berenback
emily_berenback@nksd.net, 401-541-6300

Wickford Middle School:

Lori Logidice, lori_logidice@nksd.net, 401-541-6473

SMH Quidnessett Elementary School Rep.:

Tina Morris, tina_morris@nksd.net, 401-541-6373

Fishing Cove Elementary School Reps.:

Michele Corbin, michele_corbin@nksd.net, 401-268-6580

Forest Park Elementary School Rep.:

Brenda Glover,  brenda_glover@nksd.net,  401-541-6380

Davisville Academy School Reps.:

Lisa Marenaro, lisa_marenaro@nksd.net, 401-541-6340

Hamilton Elementary School Rep.:

Liz Branchaud, elizabeth_branchaud@nksd.net, 401-268-6520

Stony Lane Elementary School Rep.:

Nicole Hitchener & Michele Lacroix
nicole_hitchener@nksd.net, michele_lacroix@nksd.net, 401-268-6541